Christmas at Sea

The Holiday season is upon us, and like most I’ve found myself wondering where the time has gone.   Is it really already the third week of December already?

Icing the fish in December

Icing the fish in December

The fall semester at school has concluded its finals week, and everyone has made their way to whichever place they call home for the holidays.  However for me as a fifth year student (I took the scenic route thru school), that last final I took in Animal Physiology a week ago today was my last, and it has yet to sink in.  I don’t ever have to go back to another class at the University of New Hampshire ever again.  That’s right, I graduated.  I’ve proudly accepted the title of a college graduate, with a bachelor of science in marine biology with a concentration in writing; and yes, it feels amazing.  I’d like to take this time to THANK anyone and everyone who’s given me a helping hand along the way; I couldn’t have ever done it alone.

That being said, people immediately jump out of their seats asking the infamous question…”What next?”  Well friends and fellow Fishues followers, for now the plan is to fly to an undetermined location in the next 10 days, the only criteria being that this mysterious place be warm and on the water where I can finally get lots of warm-water diving in.  Any suggestions?  I have a few ideas I’ve been tossing around in my head (or my dome-piece as my New Zealand-bound brother, Alex would call it).  Currently the winning idea is to help crew a sailboat from Panama to Puerto Rico.  We shall see.  Having never experienced such freedom before, I’m overwhelmed with the possibilites.  I could go anywhere!  The only catch is I have to be back around the beginning of April to help set up a future business endeavor with my business partner Josh Wiersma, the NH fishing sector manager.  Yes, you guessed it, the business will involve fish.  How did you know?!  I promise to share all the details once we have things more tightly locked down.  Our hope is to be fully operational by May 1st.

Josh Wiersma

Josh Wiersma

Until then, you can follow my future travels at my new blog site:  www.seavhtravels.wordpress.com.  But don’t get too excited, I haven’t posted anything yet.  That being said, don’t start mourning the loss of Fishues; I hope to semi-regularly post any fish issues I swim upon throughout my travels along the way.

End of the day Paper Work

End of the day Paper Work

 

Now that you are fully qued in to the future of Fishues, I’d like to take this time to wish you all a Joyous Holiday Season.  In the case of f/v Sweet Misery, the spirit of Christmas does not end where the water meets the land.  I’d like to share a few moments from the opening of each crew member’s stockings aboard Jay Driscoll’s boat, Sweet Misery yesterday.  Bare with me, there’s a lot of inside jokes.  I’m pretty sure Jay’s heart grew three sizes that day.  From the crew of Sweet Misery and myself: Wishing you all a MERRY CHRISTMAS and a HAPPY NEW YEAR wherever your home may be, whether it’s on a boat, in your house, or along your travels.  And if you get the chance to read this, Merry Christmas Alex.  Hike a mountain for me!  Much LOVE to all.

Seabrook Represent

Seabrook Represent

 

Trying it out for size

Trying it out for size

Secret's out. Pete loves Twilight.

Secret’s out. Pete loves Twilight.

 

The Crew

The Crew

The crew

The crew

My favorite gift of all

My favorite gift of all

Fishing Made Easy!

Fishing Made Easy!

Personalized Poncho

Personalized Poncho

Poncho

Poncho

Gangster Poncho

Gangster Poncho

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL AND TO ALL A GOOD NIGHT!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas at Sea

Leave a Reply

