One Fishy Summer

My summer off from school is coming to a close, and my 2 month internship as a Brian Doyle Fellow through NH Sea Grant is wrapping up as well, however I am not ready to give up the fight; so have no fear, the blog will go on.  I am determined to shed as much light as I am capable of as a full time student, on the NH seacoast’s fish issues throughout the next 4 months before I graduate from the University of New Hampshire with a B.S. in Marine Biology.  Questions to consider:

Who is fishing our waters?  What are they catching?  What problems are they facing as a group?  What problems are the fish populations facing as a whole?  Where is the seafood in the markets coming from and how was it fished?  

49 Inch Cod

49 Inch Cod

I have been fishing on over 14 commercial fishing vessels the past 2 months, in addition to my 2 other jobs, arriving at harbor before any sign of sun amidst the dark night, and have worked alongside the fishermen helping with their daily tasks to the best of my ability.  And overall I feel they have been grateful for my presence, along with the sincerity of my intentions, whether they have agreed with my views or not.  Though the summer is wrapping up, I am going to continue to fish on the weekends because of a busy class schedule during the week, and I will continue to share my experiences along the way.

My work as an intern for NH Sea Grant is coming to a close, but I am hoping to continue working with them in one way or another in the future.  My biographies on local fishermen will be used on the NH Fresh and Local Seafood page, as well as at the Yankee Fishermen’s Cooperative, in addition to several other places throughout the seacoast.  If you’d like to talk fishues with me sometime, you should stop by Fishtival, the 4th Annual Fish and Lobster Festival, taking place at Prescott Park in Portsmouth on September 22nd, from 12:00-4:00.  I will have a table there, and may possibly be presenting.  It should be a great day, filled with excellent opportunities to educate oneself about our NH seacoast.

That being said, thanks for all the support from family, friends, new blog friends, co-workers and fishermen alike.  Knowing so many great people are reading my work has kept me writing, as well as helping me to wake at such crazy hours.  It means a lot to me. Truly.  Stay tuned for additional Fishues; there’s a never ending supply of material, I can assure you.

Read Your Fishues!

Read Your Fishues!

And Eat Local Seafood!

5 thoughts on “One Fishy Summer

  1. aiden and mimi just looked at your new article. aiden says that is the biggest fish i have ever seen !!!! we’ve enjoyed all you’ve written this summer. glad you had the opportunity to do this.
    love, us

  2. Have really enjoyed these posts even if I can’t eat fresh sea coast fish-unless you want to send us a dog. keep em’ comin. Best to you in your final semester!

    • I love this idea. I would love to do some write-ups on their wives to help balance the blog out. It would be great to get their perspective. Maybe I could meet up with you sometime for coffee?!

Leave a Reply

